You know by now that Tuscaloosa and counties along the Interstate 20/59 corridor have been placed in the NWS' "slight" risk area for this severe weather event. Threats include, but are not limited to, quarter size hail, damaging winds of up to 60 miles per hour, and tornadoes.

Fayette, Walker, and Marion counties have been placed in an "enhanced" risk area for storms and could see tornadoes, damaging winds of up to 60 miles per hour, and quarter size hail this afternoon.

The National Weather Service currently projects storms to impact our listening area between 3 p.m. and 10 p.m.

With all of that being said, schools are taking if safer and will be dismissing early.

Here's a list of schools, so far.  I'm sure more will be added.


Cullman County Schools    1 PM

Fayette  County Schools 12:30

Jasper City Schools   1 PM and  no after school programs

Blount County   1 PM

Oneonta  City Schools 1:15 PM

St. Clair City  No after school activities

Sumiton Christian School  1 PM

Walker County 1 PM

Wallace State Community College  1 PM


Check back to see if any other schools are added.

More From 92.9 WTUG