Walt Maddox/Facebook
Walt Maddox/Facebook

Walt Maddox is still the mayor Tuscaloosa after defeating his first challenger since 2005, Stephon 'Step' Lewis. Maddox won 90% of the votes in Tuscaloosa. He celebrated his win last night at Hotel Indigo with all his family, friends, and fans.

City Council members, Phylis Odom, Kip Tyner and Eddie Pugh are all keeping their seats. While, Harriston Taylor was ousted by newcomer Raevan Howard for District 2.

For Tuscaloosa City School Board, there are a few runoffs happening. District 1 between LaQuishia “Que” Chandler and Matthew Wilson. District 2 Earnestine Tucker and Kendra Williams. District 5 Erica Grant and Beth Cleino Allaway.

Tuscaloosa City School Board District 3 Guy May keeps his seat as he was not challenged. Patrick Hammer won 77% of the votes for District 4. Marvin Lucas keeps his seat for District 6 and so does Erskine Simmons for District 7.

There seems to be like people were wanting a lot of change this season and got what they were looking for.

Inauguration day for the new officials will be on May 22.

More From 92.9 WTUG